Moving Mountains – Flourishing  through Fellowship

We aim to develop life-long learners that have a clear understanding of the world in which we live through the acquisition of skills and knowledge.  Developing their unique God given talents will enable them to thrive and flourish in a global society. Understanding the importance of collaboration children develop a sense of self and their impact and significance within the world in which they live. They learn that events from the past are linked and have an impact on their life in the present and indeed the future.

Our focus when creating our curriculum was for it to have an emphasis on knowledge, so that the children would know and remember more; to embed reading, writing, spoken language and maths across all subjects and to empower children to become resilient, confident and independent learners. We deliver high quality lessons that are personalised to our diverse school community for all subjects which develops skills, knowledge and creativity for all children, regardless of their starting points. Children develop the ability to relate current learning to what has been learnt previously and what will be learnt in the future.

We strive to ensure that the more able children in all areas of the curriculum are challenged further in their learning and children who find aspects of their learning more difficult are appropriately supported so that they too are enabled to experience success across a range of subjects.

We aim to ignite the children’s learning spark through engaging in super learning days at the beginning of a topic and to support our thematic approach to the curriculum. A variety of learning experiences enrich the children’s knowledge and understanding including purposeful home learning activities and extra-curricular visits. Throughout each topic, pupils have the opportunities to share their learning and collaborate with each other which develops their independence and motivation as learners.

Knowledge organisers are used to support the children in their learning, both in class and as home learning. This is a collection of vocabulary and key facts that children will learn. Termly assessments give pupils the opportunity to demonstrate the knowledge, skills and vocabulary they have learnt in their learning. This is then used as a basis to ensure coverage and progression throughout the school.

Finally, the curriculum considers the development of the whole child and does not merely concentrate on academic success. Equally important is the spiritual, moral, social and cultural development of our pupils and their understanding of the core values of our society and the wider world.

Rosherville Curriculum Topic Overview

2020 – 2021

Term 1 & 2 Term 3 & 4 Term 5 & 6
EYFS Mr Tumbles & Friends

People Who Help Us

The Grinch Who Stole Christmas

Zoom, Zoom, Zoom

All Creatures Great and Small

Emergency On Planet Earth

Once Upon A Time

Year 1 Famous Five Away We Go Magnificent Beasts
Year 2 Beyond Living Memory Muck, Mess and Mixtures Contrasting Climates
Year 3/4 Extreme Earth Victorians Rainforest
Year 4/5 Extreme Earth Victorians Rainforest
Year 6 Ice Trap World War 2 Magnificent Mayans


Foundation Stage

Children entering school at the age of 4-5 work towards the Early Learning Goals for the Foundation Stage. These are

Prime Areas:

  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development
  • Physical Development
  • Communication and Language

Specific Areas:

  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the World
  • Expressive Arts and Design

At the Foundation Stage there is a big emphasis on ‘play and communication’ and learning through first hand experiences.The children work in a variety of adult led and independent groups. They move freely between the classroom and the outside areas to support their learning.

If you require any further information about our curriculum, please do not hesitate to contact the school office who will put you in contact with the relevant subject leader.

Curriculum Statement